Outreachy Internship Chronicles

Outreachy Internship Chronicles

New Job, Who Dis?

ยท

2 min read

Hello World ๐Ÿ‘‹

I'm Sonia Lomo, an aspiring Frontend Developer currently working as an Outreachy Intern with The ChRIS Project. I'm an open-source contributor by day and an acoustic guitar player by night (or at least try to be). terrible guitar player

What centers me ๐Ÿง˜โ€โ™€๏ธ

I believe that my 3 core values are growth, contribution and boldness at this stage of my life.

1. Growth

I'm still in my twenties and for me, this is the time for experimenting with your career and hobbies. It's a time to make stuff and break stuff. I especially want to grow as a Software Developer. I want to take up as many opportunities as I can get because I have fewer obligations in my life right now.

2. Contribution

I fell in love with contributing to open source during the 2020 Hacktoberfest. I corrected a typo in a Readme file - it got approved ๐Ÿคฉ. I've never wanted to stop ever since. I think the thought of contributing to an open-source project is amazing. People from anywhere in the world can connect over code. It excites me to know that I'm making some impact on someone else's dream and someday, someone else will do the same for me...it is the circle of life.

3. Boldness

I've had a life-long battle with fear and anxiety and I've learned to play it safe with my actions. I'm trying to break free from that mindset. Boldness is the opposite of fearfulness. I want to face every fear head-on and prove the monsters in my head wrong. I know that the fear probably won't go away any time soon, but I can choose to act despite it.

What motivated me to join Outreachy

I discovered Outreachy during Hacktoberfest 2020 after seeing quite a handful of issues with Outreachy labels. I got curious and read up on them. I thought their work was inspiring - giving opportunities to underrepresented groups from all over the world. That's something you don't see every day. There it was, a chance to do something you love and get paid for it. I didn't think I would get in, but what the heck; I had nothing to lose. The worst thing that could happen would be receiving a rejection email (we've all had our fair share of those ๐Ÿ™„). I'm glad I got in though, I can't wait for the adventure ahead of me.

ย